Log in
Log in

Legislative Updates


Draft of CSWMFT Rules for Ohio Art Therapy License:

Draft Rules for Art Therapy Licensure 2024

Rules are open for public comment until February 12, 2024. 

You may review the rules and directions to submit comment here:  

Ohio Art Therapy Licensure FAQ:

Art Therapy License FAQ 2.4.2024.docx

BATA Members, WE DID IT!

Ohio has Art Therapy Licensure! 

July 4, 2023

We are ecstatic to announce that Governor DeWine signed House Bill 33 last night, finally securing art therapy licensure in Ohio. This law is the commencement of the persistent and committed advocacy that Ohio art therapists have put forth over the span of several decades. Many, many thanks to everyone who has participated in these efforts - your input was valued and your voice was heard! 

While we are elated and immensely proud of this accomplishment, we have a lot of work ahead. This is an incredibly important step for our field which has laid a regulatory foundation that we will continue to build upon. Licensure is the beginning of many possibilities for the community of Ohio art therapists and the people we serve. 

We know you will have lots of questions about when/how this will take effect. Please review pages 73-74 of the synopsis, which highlights the majority of the information we currently have: HB 33 Art Therapy Synopsis.pdf

The BATA BOD is actively working to compile information for you and the public to make this transition comprehensible and supportive. Make sure to read upcoming BATA E-Blasts for updated information and opportunities to participate in various projects in the near future.

But for now - let's celebrate!

With pride and appreciation,

The BATA Board of Directors & Legislative Committee

BATA Legislative Awards


  • Art Therapy Advocate Award:  The Batchelder Company


  • Art Therapy Advocate Award:  Terri DiGennaro


  • State Representative Marlene Anielski Legislator of the Year Award:  Allison Russo
  • Art Therapy Advocate Award:  Sarah Carruthers


    • State Representative Marlene Anielski Legislator of the Year Award:  Kenny Yuko
    • Art Therapy Advocate Award:  Tina Husted


    • State Representative Marlene Anielski Legislator of the Year Award:  Andrew Brenner
    • Art Therapy Advocate Award:  Tim Ryan


    • State Representative Marlene Anielski Legislator of the Year Award:  Marlene Anielski


    • Legislator of the Year Award:  Nickie Antonio

    Make sure to follow us on Instagram and Facebook for updates,
    and look out for future E-Blasts with information on how to get involved with advocacy!


    Buckeye Art Therapy Association

    © 2022 - All rights reserved

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software